Grey Strawberry Tea

I am a terrible sick person. I whine and moan, I go out into public places, and I will cough in otherwise silent libraries for hours rather than admit defeat and go home to my ever loving bed. I would try and lie about this, because I have my pride, but Kat has dealt with (read: cooked mac and cheese for) my sick corpse too many times for me to get away with a noble façade here. It was my mother’s good luck that a couple days after arriving in Portland I came down with a nasty cold.

DSC_0428

It turns out that meth has become such a problem in Oregon that you can’t get Sudafed without a prescription. I nearly cried when the pharmacist told me this, to be perfectly honest. Its my good luck that I was home, where, if you blow your nose pathetically enough, someone will likely take pity on you and cook up some soup. There will often be a grilled cheese on the side, too. I was feeling better by Saturday, but in the interest of my health, decided this drink looked like a good idea, as it includes tea. I still don’t buy all that jazz about alcohol depressing your immune system – just another example of the powerful fruit juice lobby shaping our lives with their baseless propaganda.

DSC_0415

It helps if you’re also lucky enough to have strawberries growing in the garden out back, like my parents do, but the store-bought will probably do. This version serves two, but only needs a second teabag if you triple it.

DSC_0420

You’ll need-

eight or so strawberries

3/4 cup of vodka

one early grey teabag

3 or 4 lemons

1/4 cup sugar

1. Cut the strawberries up into bite-size chunks

2. In your pitcher combine the strawberries and vodka. Add the teabag, cover, and let steep overnight

3. After at least 12 hours, remove the teabag

4. In a separate container, combine the juice from your lemons (you only need 3 if you use a reamer, otherwise 4) and the sugar. Stir on and off until the sugar dissolves

5. Pour the lemon-sugar mixture into the pitcher. Stir, and serve on the rocks.

Leave a Reply

