Tomato Eggplant Curry

When I was studying for my written exam, about two years ago, I reached an all-time low in the quality of my cooking. I would estimate that during my first year of graduate school, 50% of my meals were egg burritos (scramble eggs. Put them in a burrito, roll it up, and let it sit in the pan for a minute), but that summer I let it escalate to at least 75%. I think 10% of what I ate consisted of meals that I had when I went out on dates with the ginger hipster I was seeing, and the other 15% were things Kat cooked for me when I showed up at her place showing signs of uneven nutrition.

DSC_0451

I’m currently studying for my oral examination, and if I weren’t staying with my parents this summer, I would most likely end up doing the same thing again (when stress hits, I’m a creature of habit). But there are groceries here! Fruits and vegetables! In the garden and the pantry! Its amazing!

Kat cooked this for me once during that evil, evil summer. I asked her for the recipe, then managed to not cook it until this past Wednesday night, when my parents went out for dinner to celebrate their 31st wedding anniversary (congratulations!).

You’ll need-

1 medium eggplant

1 medium onion

1 medium-large tomato (skinned)*

2 tbs. olive oil

1 garlic clove, diced

1 tsp. cumin

1 tsp curry powder

1/4 cup sour cream

1. Heat the oven to 450. Lop off the top of the eggplant, pop it onto a baking sheet, and stick it in there for about 25 min. When the eggplant is tender, take it out of the oven, allow it to cool, then peel the skin off, separate the seeds from the flesh, and chop the flesh into big chunks.

2. Slice the onion into half moons, and sauté in the olive oil with the cumin until the onion is tender

3. Mix in the garlic, curry powder, and tomato. Let it cook for about a minute, then add in the eggplant and the sour cream. Stir everything up and let it get friendly in the pan for a few minutes. Serve over rice or couscous, and enjoy!

*to skin a tomato- pop it into a pot of boiling water for about 5 minutes, then take it out and run it under cold water (to stop it from cooking). Cut an x in the skin on the bottom of the tomato, and carefully peel the skin off.

Leave a Reply

